guest · Join · Help · Sign In
Protected
To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, use your Oakton username and password

How Can I Find Information On Wikipedia: Is it Appropriate for College Research?


NOTE Some Oakton Community College instructors do not allow Wikipedia to be used as a valid source in research papers, or they have placed other limitations on its use, so remember to always check with your instructor. Ask a reference librarian for suggestions about reliable research resources on the web.

Wikipedia as an Information Source: Advantages for College Students
• Convenience and ease of use
• Good place to start research for overview and potential search terms on the subject (like any general encyclopedia)
• Valuable bibliographies/links pointing to peer-reviewed research
• Up-to-date coverage of current events and new technology

Wikipedia as an Information Source: Problems for College Students
• Lack of reliability (errors, vandalism, lack of documentation) and instability due to open editing and frequent changes (hard to cite)
• Uneven quality in writing, in coverage, and in objectivity
• Bad place to end research -- you need research skills beyond using general encyclopedias (including Wikipedia) so consult with your instructor and librarian as you are doing your research
• Serious researchers do not cite general knowledge encyclopedias (including Wikipedia)

When doing research, it is best to compare and use information from multiple, unrelated resources.

Web sites to help you decide how best to use Wikipedia...

Five Criteria for Evaluating the Web:
Use these five simple criteria to evaluate the reliability of a Wikipedia entry as well as information on other webpages
http://www.oakton.edu/~weaver/247/evalchart.htm

Selected Articles on the Wikipedia Controversy
03/06 Fatally flawed

04/06 I want my Wikipedia!

06/06 Can history be open source? Wikipedia and the future of the past

06/06 Wikipedia founder discourages academic use of his creation

02/07 A history department bans citing Wikipedia as a research source

02/07 Middlebury College History Department limits students’ use of Wikipedia

04/07 10 Questions: Jimmy Wales

05/07 Quality still matters

06/07 Can we make peace with Wikipedia?

06/07 Online encyclopedia earns passing marks

10/07 Wikipedia begets Veropedia

10/07 When Wikipedia is the assignment

02/08 Wikipedia idiots: The edit wars of San Francisco

03/08 The charms of Wikipedia

03/08 What to do with Wikipedia

03/08 Revenge of the experts

03/08 Open source troubles in Wiki world

03/08 The battle for Wikipedia's soul

03/08 Start writing the eulogies for print encyclopedias

2008 Comparison of Wikipedia and other encyclopedias for accuracy, breadth, and depth in historical articles

06/08 Encyclopaedia Britannica to follow modified Wikipedia model

08/08 Dissecting the Web through Wikipedia (view on-campus only)

08/08 Don't like Palin's Wikipedia story? Change it

09/08 Wikitannica?

09/08 Putting the library in Wikipedia

10/08 Emails show journalist rigged Wikipedia's naked shorts

10/08 Wikipedia and the meaning of truth

08/26/09 The 15 Biggest Wikipedia blunders

09/28/09 Is Wikipedia a victim of its own success?

More magazine and newspaper articles on this topic from Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (this link will only work on an Oakton campus).

Selected Websites for Wikipedia Use
Pew / Internet Profile of Wikipedia Users

University of California-Santa Barbara, Department of English, Wikipedia Use Policy

Using Wikipedia, including limitations, advantages, appropriateness, and further information

Wikipedia General Disclaimer: Wikipedia makes no guarantee of validity

Wikipedia Schools’ FAQ

Wikipedia Tutorial
Using Wikipedia Wisely

Wikipedia on YouTube
What is Wikipeda?

Books in the Oakton Library

Wikipedia: The Missing Manual / John Broughton
TK5105.8882 .B76 2008 DPC
RHC.TK5105.8882 .B76 2008 RHC

Alternatives to Wikipedia

In college, Wikipedia is often considered a launching point, often pointing to more authoritative websites, but many times it is not allowed to be cited as a legitimate source in research papers. As an Oakton student, your Oakton Library provides many wonderful, legitimate resources to you free and available both on and off-campus.

Reliable Oakton Online Research Resources

To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.
Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644


Many reference works, such as special encyclopedias with signed articles written by experts that you can cite, are available full-text online through the Oakton Library at Reference Works Online.

Search Academic Search Complete EBSCO , ASAP - Expanded Academic ASAP InfoTrac , SocINDEX FullText EBSCO and
WilsonSelectPlus OCLC for magazine, journal and newspaper articles related to your topic.

NOTE The Oakton Library Reference Librarians are here to help. Stop by the Reference Desk at either campus or call (847) 635-1644 (DPC) / (847) 635-1474 (RHC) for help with your research and using the online resources available to you.

Search for books about your research topic in the Oakton Library book catalog and I-Share.

Updated 09/30/09
Home
Loading...
Home Turn Off "Getting Started"
Loading...