guest · Join · Help · Sign In
Protected
To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, use your Oakton username and password

How Can I Find Information On Quotes?


NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions.

Web sites

Bartlett's Quotations
this tenth edition of 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations from one of the most enduring and popular reference works

Columbia World of Quotations65,000 essential quotations constitute this authoritative collection and represents the research of 154 experts

Quotations:Google Directory
well-organized directory of links appropriate for research papers and speeches

Simpson's Contemporary Quotations
over 10,000 quotations from 4,000 sources organized into 25 categories and 60 sections, this comprehensive reference contains words of wit and wisdom from such modern notables as Ezra Pound, Henry Kissinger, George Orwell, Dorothy Parker, and Desmond Tutu

Selected Books In The Oakton Library

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
Call Number: REF PN6081.B27 (DP & RHC)

The Columbia Dictionary of Quotations
Call Number: REF PN6081.A652 (DP)

Great Quotes from Great Women
Call Number: PN6081.5G7 (RHC)

Simpson's Contemporary Quotations:The Most Notable Quotes from 1950 To The Present
Call Number: REF PN6083.S53 (RHC)

Full text Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.
Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644


Search Academic Search Complete EBSCO and ASAP - Expanded Academic ASAP InfoTrac to obtain quotations from magazine, journal and newspaper articles.

TIP A quote can be an effective way to start a research paper or speech.

NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions.

Updated 09/15/09
Home
Loading...
Home Turn Off "Getting Started"
Loading...