guest · Join · Help · Sign In
Protected

How Can I Find Information On Peace Studies and Peace Education?


NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions.

Find Magazine, Journal, and Newspaper Articles in Oakton Library Databases

To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.
Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644


Search Academic Search Complete EBSCO and ASAP - Expanded Academic ASAP InfoTrac for magazine, journal and newspaper articles related to your topic in Peace Studies.

Periodicals of all kinds (scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers) can be searched for peace topics through subject searches using search terms such as peace, peace-building or nonviolence.

Individual journals such as Peace and Change can be browsed online. It is also possible to search within individual journals for articles.

Search Oakton Library Online Reference Works

To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.
Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644


FactsonFile: Modern World History Online covers world history from the mid-1400s to the present.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed before they are made public.

World Conflicts Today provides history, background, implications, timelines, and statistics regarding areas of conflict and dissention in the modern world.

Selected Websites


Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
http://www.carnegieendowment.org

Peace Calendar for Chicago (American Friends Service Committee):
http://www.afsc.org/calendar/calendar.php?calendar=22

Colleges with peace studies programs:

Earlham College. Peace and Global Studies
http://www.earlham.edu/~pags

Hampshire College (Five College Consortium) Peace and World Security Studies (PAWSS)
http://pawss.hampshire.edu

University of Notre Dame.
Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies.
http://www.nd.edu/~krocinst/

Wellesley College Peace and Justice Studies
http://www.wellesley.edu/Peace/Peace_justice_home/peace_justice_homepage.html

Finding Books In The Oakton Library

Search for additional books in the Oakton Book Catalog and I-Share, the Library's online book catalog.

Information for peace studies research may be included in a wide variety of subject areas including history, law, philosophy, religion, sociology and education. Some subject headings that are helpful for locating books relating to peace studies include:

Peace
Peace - building
Peace Movements
Pacifism


Nonviolence

War
Just war doctrine
War and society
War - moral and ethical aspects



Selected Books In The Oakton Library

Nonviolence
Nonviolence: a reader in the ethics of action. George F. Estey.
BT 736.6 .E83 1971

History of Force. James L. Payne.
HM 886 .P37 2004

Politics of nonviolent action. Gene Sharp.
JC 328.3 .S45 1973


Peace
History of the American Peace Movement. Charles R. Howlett, editor.
RHC JZ 5584.U6 H57 2005

How to work for Peace. David W. Felder.
JX 1952.F39 1991

The Nobel Peace Prize and the Laureates. Irwin Abrams.
RHC JX 1962. A2 A25 1988

Stop the Next War Now. Medea Benjamin and Jodie Evans, editors
JZ 5574.S76 2005

Understanding Peacekeeping. Alex J. Bellamy et al.
RHC JZ 6374.B45 2004

War
Just and Unjust Wars: a moral argument with historical illustrations.
Michael Walzer U21.2 .W345 2006

The Behavioral Origins of War. D. Scott Bennett
U21.2 .B39 2004

War (Current Controversies series). John Woodward, editor.
RHC JZ 6385. W36 2006

Why War? Keith L. Nelson and Spencer C. Olin.
U21 .N39 1980

Finding information on Peace Education

United States Institute of Peace
BUILDING GLOBAL PEACE, CONFLICT, AND SECURITY CURRICULA AT UNDERGRADUATE INSTITUTIONS: A Curriculum Development Guide for Colleges and Universities, January 2007.

http://www.usip.org/class/undergrad_curriculum_dev.pdf

Hague Appeal for Peace
Peace Lessons from Around the World

Learning to Abolish War: teaching toward a culture of peace
Includes sample lesson plans for K-12 peace education as well as
Discussions of the Hague Agenda for Peace and Justice in the
21st Century and peace education
http://www.haguepeace.org/index.php?action=resources


The Peace and Justice Studies Association

Global Directory of Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution Programs,
7th edition, 2006

Peace Chronicle
A 32 page newsletter published by PJSA three times a year, featuring new scholarship and literature, the latest developments in peace research, peace studies and peace education, central issues in the peace and justice movement, book and film reviews and other selected resources for educators and activists.

http://www.peacejusticestudies.org/resources/index.php

Pax Educare: the Connecticut Center for Peace Education
Pax Educare is a resource center for the research, study and the teaching of peace.
http://www.paxeducare.org/newsletter.shtml

Selected Books In The Oakton Library


Peace Education. Ian M Harris and Mary Lee Morrison. 2nd edition.
JZ1237.H37 2003

Patterns of Conflict, Paths to Peace. Larry J. Fisk and John L. Schellenberg, editors.
JZ 5538.P38 2000

Comprehensive Peace Education. Betty A. Reardon.
RHC JX 1904.5 .R4 1988


NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions.

Updated 09/15/09
Home
Loading...
Home Turn Off "Getting Started"
Loading...