guest · Join · Help · Sign In
Protected

How Can I Find Information On News?


NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions.

Find Newspaper Articles in Oakton Library Databases

To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.
Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644


Search Newspaper Article Databases for online full-text newspaper articles.

All NewsBank Newspapers
Chronicle of Higher Education
Chicago Sun-Times via NewsBank
Chicago Tribune via NewsBank
Chicago Tribune RedEye via NewsBank
Daily Herald via NewsBank
Historical Chicago Tribune via ProQuest
Historical Chicago Defender via ProQuest
LexisNexis Academic
NewsBank Newspapers
NewsIllinois State News (including Pioneer Press newspapers) via Newsbank
Newspaper Source via EBSCO
New York Times via NewsBank
Regional Business News via EBSCO
The State Journal-Register (Springfield, IL)

Selected Websites

World Press News
online news sources from around the world including information about political perspective, language, and ownership of the news source. Access newspapers by their country of origin

ABYZ News Links
portal to online news sources from around the world;primarily composed of newspapers but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies

HeadlineSpot
guide to thousands of the best U.S. & international news resources on the web

News:Google Directory
well-organized subject directory of news web sites including links to colleges & universities, newspapers, television stations, and magazines & E-zines

Newslink
comprehensive national and international news resource, with 9,000 media links, online columns and special reports

Newsvoyager.com
newspaper portal providing a comprehensive gateway to newspaper web sites around the world

Newspapers:Yahoo Directory
links to newspapers from countries around the world from the Yahoo Directory

Today's Front Pages
178 newspaper front pages from 25 countries;presented alphabetically

NOTE For tips on evaluating a news web site, see the Checklist for a News Web Page from the Library at Widener University in Chester, Pennsylvania

Selected Books In The Oakton Library

Censored 2001: 25 Years of Censored News and The Top Censored Stories of The Year
Call Number: PN4888.P6 C46 2001 DPC

Going Live: Getting the News Right In a Real-time, Online World
Call Number: PN4784.T4 S45 2001 RHC

History Behind The Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide (multi-volumes)
Call Number: REF D410.H57 DPC

Journalism After September 11
Call Number: PN4853.J59 2002 DPC

Mass Media and American Politics
Call Number: HN90.M3 G71997 DPC

The News About The News: Journalism in Peril
Call Number: PN4855.D64 2002 DPC

Television Histories: Shaping Collective Memory In The Media Age
Call Number: PN1992.56.T45 2001 DPC

TIP For an interesting perspective, compare coverage of the same news event from several different sources including international newspapers.

Finding Books in the Oakton Library

Search for additional books in the Oakton Book Catalog and I-Share, the Library's online book catalog. Make sure to get your library card at the Circulation Desk.

NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions.

Updated 09/15/09
Home
Loading...
Home Turn Off "Getting Started"
Loading...