guest · Join · Help · Sign In
Protected
To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, use your Oakton username and password

How Can I Find Information On Global Business & Companies?


NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. It includes links to government data, as well as information for the nonprofit and commercial areas. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions.


*Recommended Oakton Library Databases for general Global Business & Companies research:

To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.
Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644


ASAP - Expanded Academic ASAP InfoTrac and Academic Search Complete EBSCO
Good for general articles on global/international business as well as specifics, such as the clothing industry in Mexico.

Business Source Premier
Good for general articles on global/international business as well as specifics, such as the popularity of donuts in Brazil.

LexisNexis Academic
Good for general articles on global/international business as well as specifics, such as the use of ramen in France. This database has access to numerous international newspapers and magazines, as well as a directory to companies in numerous countries around the world.

Opposing Viewpoints
Good for general discussion of the issues concerning global/international business.

Points of View EBSCO
Good for general discussion of the issues concerning global/international business.

Stat-USA (Available at the bottom of all country reports on the "Background Notes" link off of the "Reference Works Online" link at Oakton Library web page or directly at http://www.stat-usa.gov/.
This has detailed import/export statistics and country market studies. The "username" and "password" are both the same F0141A.

Wall Street Journal
Article Abstracts available on EBSCO Business Source Premier (daily issues in print available at the campus Periodical desks). You should limit your search to the newspaper "Wall Street Journal" when searching this database.

Financial News
Coverage of latest news on world financial markets.

*Recommended Library and non-library resources by topic within global trade:

*Country Information

(Use these resources to find primary and secondary materials on business customs, economic environment, cultural issues/attitudes toward trade, trade restrictions, current technologies, custom duties)

Background Notes
facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. Updated/revised by the U.S. Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs

Country and Regional Information
well-organized directory of web sites from Google, one of the most complete search directories on the web

Export.gov
U.S. government portal to exporting and trade services; includes country and industry market reports, trade agreements and statistics, broad country information and more.

US Commercial Service Export Assistance by State
Offices in Illinois that assist businesses in exports.

World Conflicts Today
current news and historical information on ten of the world's hotspots, such as Iraq, Darfur, Chechnya, Korean Peninsula, and the Basque Country. The intent is to represent all the sides involved in the conflicts fairly.

CIA WordFactBook
US government profiles of countries and territories around the world. Information on geography, people, government, transportation, economy, communications

National Geographic Maps
Click on the map and use your mouse scroll wheel to see all countries of the world. Then click on the part of the world you are interested in until the map shows the level of detail you want. Or, enter an address to see a specific place.

NOTE You can find country data on the web that is often unavailable in more traditional sources.

Business Source Premier/EBSCOSearch by "geographic terms" like England and "subject" like energy. See results in such categories as "Country Reports," "Industry Profiles," and "Market Research Reports."

Foreign Government Resources on the Web
Comprehensive directory of government Web sites and related resources.

Oanda: Currency Converter
Currency exchange rates for over 160 world currencies.

Worldbank Business Planet
This web sites provides comprehensive details on “doing business” in specific countries.

*Product/Industry Reseach

(Use these government, nonprofit organization, and corporate resources to find primary and secondary materials on the product(s) and the environment in which it will be sold, past sales figures, industry research, comparisons to other similar products, estimated sales for future years, target markets, how product will be packaged and marketed, cost of shipment)

U.S. Census
The U.S. defines products using 10-digit HTS codes. Exports codes (which the U.S. calls Schedule B) are administered by the U.S. Census Bureau. In addition to being a good place to start export research, this site has a nice FAQ section on how to answer global/international trade questions.

U.S.International Trade Commission
The U.S. defines products using 10-digit HTS codes. Import codes are administered by the U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC). Good for strategic information regarding import-export issues.

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Find out companies doing business in your product area.

General Statistics
(Use these resources to find primary and secondary materials on economic statistics and activities, demographics, exchange rates, foreign investment, foreign aid received, inflation rates, percentage of GDP invested in research and development)

Fedstats
A comprehensive index to statistical information published by the U.S. government.

Statistical Resources on the Web
Relevant links “Foreign Governments Statistical Agencies” and “Foreign Trade
U.S. Imports and Exports” and “Foreign Economics International Sources”

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Available also off of "Reference Works Online" link at Oakton Library web page. Check the "International Statistics" category.

Trade Statistics

Export.gov
A nice place to get basic information, as well as an overview of statistics relating to your search.

Tradestats Express
U.S. merchandise exports, imports, trade balances put together by the U.S. Department of Commerce

United Nations
The UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database has detailed information on international trade.

USA Trade Online
Import and export data. Available through code F0141A.

United States Census
Find a wealth of foreign trade statistics.

*Company Information

(Use these government, nonprofit organization, and corporate resources to find primary and secondary materials on specifics companies, including financial information, prospect research for partners/vendors, and competitive intelligence on competitors.

Business Source Premier/EBSCO
Search "Company Profiles" tab for a look at Datamonitor company profiles.

Dun & Bradstreet
A directory of companies from around the world.

Hoovers
A directory of companies in the United States and around the globe. This database also includes industry information and a listing of major competitors for companies listed. Some of the information in this database is limited to subscribers.

Kompass
Identify and locate companies by types of products and country of origin. This site is especially good for those doing international research.

Thomas Global
Listing of global suppliers.

Thomasnet
Good for U.S. manufacturers and distributors.

*Global Trade Online Tutorials


Goizueta Business Library at Emory University

International Business Tutorial

Thunderbird Global Gateway

Trading Dictionary of Foreign/International Trade Terms

*Global Trade Associations

American Association of Exporters and Importers

International Trade Association of Greater Chicago

National Association of Export Companies


*Finding Books In The Oakton Library

Search for additional books in the Oakton Book Catalog the Library's online book catalog and CARLI libraries' I-Share Catalog. Make sure to get your library card at the Circulation Desk. When using the catalog, use search terms specific to your product, country, or global/international business topics to limit the types of books you will find. The books below can be used to get you started.

*Selected Reference Books In The Oakton Library

Dictionary of International Business Terms
Call Number: REF HD62.4S524 (DP)

Hoover's Handbook of World Business:Profiles of Major Global Enterprises
Call Number: REF HG3010.H65 (DP)

International Business Information:How To Find It, How To Use It
Call Number: REF HF54.5.P33 (DP)

International Business Information on The Web
Call Number: HF54.56.L364 (DP)

International Financial Statistics Yearbook
Call Number: REF. HG61 .I57 (DP)

*Other Related Oakton Library Research Guides


Business and Companies

Countries and Culture

*Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

Search Academic Search Complete EBSCO and ASAP - Expanded Academic ASAP InfoTrac and Business Source Premier online databases, for magazine, journal and newspaper articles about issues related to companies. Most of these articles will be full text and can be sent to your e-mail account. You can search these databases from any computer on campus. For off campus access, use your Library/Student ID number printed on your Oakton Library card.

Updated 09/14/09
Home
Loading...
Home Turn Off "Getting Started"
Loading...