Table of ContentsHow Can I Find Information On Archaeology?NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions. Search Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers in Oakton Library databasesTo access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644 Search Expanded Academic ASAP InfoTrac and Academic Search Complete EBSCO for magazine, journal, and newspaper articles related to archaeology. You can search these databases from any computer on campus. For off campus access, use your Library/Student ID number printed on your Oakton Library card. Search Oakton Library online reference worksTo access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644 Encyclopaedia Britannica Online for entries related to archaeology. FactsonFile: Ancient & Medieval History covers eight civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia. Access is limited to Oakton on-campus computers. FactsonFile: Modern World History Center covers the important civilizations and cultures of world history from prehistoric times through the modern era. Access is limited to Oakton on-campus computers. WebsitesArchaeological Institute of AmericaNorth America’s oldest and largest organization devoted to archaeology. Includes publications and reports on a variety of archaeology topics, a database of news stories, information about fieldwork opportunities & jobs, local societies, etc. The Archaeology Channel Audio & video using streaming media, plus news and teacher resources from the Archaeological Legacy Institute www.archaeologyfieldwork.com discussion boards, employment listings, resume postings, field schools, volunteer opportunities, students section, and other resources ArchNet Academic papers, institutions, and organizations devoted to archaeology National Center for Preservation Technology and Training, National Park Service Grants, resources, and training from the National Park Service The Society for Historical Archeology Emphasis is on the New World since 1400, both land and underwater sites Library of African Archaeology African related research Archaeological Site Photography Photos of archaeological sites relating to ancient Mesopotamia and ancient Egypt from the Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago. Archaeology World Explores Australian and Pacific archaeology, unconventional archaeology, prehistoric stone artefacts, and photographs of archaeological sites. Adventures in the Past: Discovering the Public Lands' Archaeological. Historic, and Fossil Heritage Education and volunteer information regarding the history, archeology, and paleontology on public land in the western U.S. From the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. Librarian's Index to the Internet: Archaeology well-organized directory of web sites from Librarian's Index to the Internet. NOTE You can find information about archaeology sites on the web that is often unavailable in more traditional sources. Selected Books In The Oakton LibraryEncyclopedia of archaeology : History and discoveries / edited by Tim MurrayCall Number: REF. CC100 .E542000 (DP) The future of the past : archaeology in the 21st century / Eberhard Zangger. Call Number: RHC. CC165 .Z36 2001 (RHC) Archaeology : theories, methods, and practice / Colin Renfrew & Paul Bahn. Call Number: CC165 .R46 2000 (DP) The atlas of world archaeology / edited by Paul G. Bahn. Call Number: SKOCCREF. CC165 .A85 2000 (RHC) The atlas of archaeology / Mick Aston & Tim Taylor. Call Number: REF. CC165 .A75 1998 (DP - on the atlas table near the library classroom) Breaking ground : pioneering women archaeologists / edited by Getzel M. Cohen and Martha Sharp Call Number: CC110 .B74 2006 (DP) Ethical issues in archaeology / edited by Larry J. Zimmerman, Karen D. Vitelli, Julie Hollowell-Zimmer Call Number: CC175 .E82 2003 (DP) Archaeological encyclopedia of the Holy Land / edited by Avraham Negev and Shimon Gibson Call Number: SKOCCREF. DS111.A2 A73 2001 (RHC) Background reading: history of country in which the excavation site is located Countries and Their Cultures (4 volumes) Call Number: REF GN307.C68 2001 (DP) Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (4 volumes) Call Number: REF GN333.W671998 (DP & RHC) Worldmark Encyclopedia of The Nations (6 volumes) Call Number: REF G63.W67 2004 (DP & RHC) Locating Books In The Oakton LibrarySearch for additional books in the Oakton online catalog and I-Share. Make sure to get your library card at the CirculationDesk. Updated 09/09/09 |