Oakton Library Online Reference WorksTo access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login. Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644. FactsonFile: Ancient & Medieval History covers eight civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient and medieval Asia. Access is limited to Oakton on-campus computers. FactsonFile: Modern World History Center covers the important civilizations and cultures of world history from prehistoric times through the modern era. Access is limited to Oakton on-campus computers. Literature Resource Center Gale Critical and biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. Oxford Islamic Studies Includes the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, primary source documents, translations of the Qur'an,with links to an online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis. Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and images and maps are provided. Oxford Reference Collection Over 150 basic reference sources, covering subjects such as art and architecture, biology, classics, computing, economics & business, environment, history, language, literature, law, medicine, mythology & folklore, performing arts, physics and math, politics, social sciences, religion & philosophy, and science in general. Journal articles in Oakton Library databasesTo access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login. Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644. Search Expanded Academic ASAP InfoTrac, Academic Search Complete EBSCO, Humanities International Complete via EBSCO, and WilsonSelectPlus for journal articles related to your topic. Many of these articles will be full text and can be sent to your e-mail account. You can search this index from any computer on campus. For off campus access, use your Library/Student ID number printed on your Oakton Library card. Link directly to the following publications available through Humanities International Complete via EBSCO:
Selected Books in the Oakton LibraryAncient Greece: a political, social, and cultural history / Sarah B. Pomeroy ... [et al.]. DF77 .A595 1999 (DPC) Ancient Mesopotamia : new perspectives / Jane R. McIntosh. DS69.5 .M38 2005 (DPC) A brief history of ancient Greece: politics, society, and culture / by Sarah B. Pomeroy ... [et al.]. HC. DF214 .B74 2004 (RHC) A companion to Greek tragedy / edited by Justina Gregory. PA3131 .C56 2005 (DPC) Everyday life in ancient Mesopotamia / by Jean Bottéro ; with contributions from André Finet ... [et al.] ; translated by Antonia Nevill. DS71 .B65 2001 (DPC) The history of the ancient world from the earliest accounts to the fall of Rome / Susan Wise Bauer. D57 .B38 2007 (DPC) Mesopotamia / Enrico Ascalone ; translated by Rosanna M. Giammanco Frongia. REF. DS69.5 .A7913 2007 (DPC) The Peloponnesian War / Lawrence Tritle. RHC. DF229 .T75 2004 (RHC) Piety and politics : the dynamics of royal authority in Homeric Greece, biblical Israel, and old Babylonian Mesopotamia / Dale Launderville. RHC. BL325.K5 L38 2003 (RHC) Sumer and the Sumerians / Harriet Crawford. DS72 .C73 2004(DPC) Women astronomers: reaching for the stars / Mabel Armstrong. QB34.5 .A76 2008 (DPC) Women of Babylon : gender and representation in Mesopotamia / Zaiab Bahrani. SKOCC. HQ1137.I72 B34 2001 (RHC) Reference Books (non-circulating, in-library use only):The book of goddesses & heroines / Patricia Monaghan REF. BL473.5 .M661990 (DPC) Bulfinch’s Mythology/Thomas Bulfinch BL310 .B82 1964 (DPC) RHCREF. BL310 .B821978 RHC) The Cambridge ancient history / edited by John Boardman ... [et al.] REF. D57 .C25 (DPC) Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic tradition / editor, Graham Speake. REF. DF757 .E532000 (DPC) Gods and heroes: a quick guide to the occupations, associations and experiences of the Greek and Roman gods and heroes / by Caroline Thomas Harnsberger. REF. BL727 .H30 (DPC) EASTREF. BL727 .H30 (RHC) The Oxford classical dictionary / edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. REF. DE5 .O91996 (DPC) SKOCCREF. DE5 .O91996 (RHC) Sports and games of the ancients / Steve Craig. REF. GV17 .C73 2002 (DPC) RHCREF. GV17 .C73 2002 (RHC) World mythology : the illustrated guide / Roy Willis , general editor. RHC. BL312 .W66 2006 (Temporarily Shelved at Des Plaines Reserve) Locating Books In The Oakton LibrarySearch for additional books in the Oakton online catalog and I-Share. Make sure to get your library card at the Circulation Desk. Suggested Subject Words:
Selected Web SitesArt Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl . AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. Best of History Web Sites is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more. BOHWS has been recommended by The Chronicle of Higher Education, The National Council for the Social Studies, The British Library Net, The New York Public Library, the BBC, Princeton University -- and many others. De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers and Their Families is an on-line encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453). The encyclopedia consists of (1) an index of all the emperors who ruled during the empire's 1500 years, (2) a growing number of biographical essays on the individual emperors, (3) family trees ("stemmata") of important imperial dynasties, (4) an index of significant battles in the empire's history, (5) a growing number of capsule descriptions and maps of these battles, and (6) maps of the empire at different times. Duke University's Library Resources in Ancient History includes a list of Classics Internet Resources. The Duke Papyrus Archive has an outstanding collection of papyri which is ranked fifth in size in the western hemisphere. The Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project, includes links to visual and aural material, since art and archeology are far more important for the periods in question than for later history. The emphasis remains on access to primary source texts for educational purposes. Intute, created by a consortium of seven universities and their partners, is a free online service that helps you to find the best web resources for your studies and research. The Classics page includes links to ancient history, ancient religions and mythology, classical studies, and other ancient cultures. Perseus is an online library maintained by Tufts University. The flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.The premier site for all things Greek and, to a lesser extent, Roman. Selected Research GuidesOakton Community College Library Research Guides:Links last checked February 4, 2010. Page last updated February 10, 2010. |