guest · Join · Help · Sign In
Protected

How Can I Find Information On American History & Politics?


NOTE This information is a starting point for your research. It will give you a jump-start to academic resources in both online and print formats. Ask a reference librarian for additional suggestions.

Search for Magazine, Journal, Newspaper, and Reference Articles

Search online resources for magazine, journal, newspaper, and reference articles about topics related to American History.
To access Oakton Library databases from an off-campus computer, click on the database name and then use your Oakton username and password to login.
Not sure what your Oakton username and password are? Find it here. Questions? Call (847) 635-1644


Magazine and Journal Articles
Expanded Academic ASAP InfoTrac
Academic Search Complete EBSCO
Military & Government Collection

Newspaper Articles
Chicago Tribune, 1849 to 1985
Chicago Tribune, 1985 to present
Historical Chicago Tribune, 1849 to 1985 & Historical Chicago Defender


Primary Sources and Analysis
CQ Historic Documents

HarpWeek: Harper's Weekly magazine from 1857-1889

Historical Statistics of the United States

Oxford African American Studies Center

Oxford Reference Premium Online

Women and Social Movements Scholars Edition


Websites

Online U.S. Document Repositories and Archives

National Archives and Administration: 100 Milestone Documents

A Chronology of US Historical Documents

United States Congressional Documents and Debates 1774 to 1875

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774 to the Present

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School, 1492 to present (including first State Constitutions)

Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts

270 to Win: Map of electoral college votes since 1789

Repositories of Primary Sources

Repositories of Primary Sources in Illinois

Online U.S. History Exhibits
The Library of Congress

The Library of Congress: American Memory

American Memory Map Collection

Benjamin Franklin, In His Own Words

The African-American Mosaic: African-American Culture and History

The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship

The Cultures and History of the Americas

Declaring Independence: Drafting the Documents

From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America

The Gettysburg Address

"I Do Solemnly Swear..." Inaugural Materials from the Collections of the Library of Congress

Smithsonian Institute Library - Galaxy of Knowledge - American Discovery Galaxy

United States Exploring Expedition, 1838 - 1842 at the Smithsonian Institute

Illinois History Museums and Online Exhibits
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum

Encyclopedia of Chicago - Historical Sources

Chicago Historical Museum: The Great Chicago Fire of 1871

Des Plaines Historical Society

Evanston Historical Society

Glencoe Historical Society

Glenview Area Historical Society

Illinois Holocaust & Education Center

Illinois State Museum History Web Exhibits

Illinois Genealogy and History presented by Illinois Trails

Mitchell Museum of the American Indian

Mount Prospect Historical Society

Newberry Library American History Collection

DigitalPast - North Suburban Library System

Park Ridge History


Skokie Historical Society

Skokie History Project

Wilmette Historical Museum

Winnetka Historical Society

Selected Reference Books In The Oakton Library

A Historical Guide To The U.S. Government
Call Number: REF JK9.H57 (DP)

American eras. The revolutionary era 1754-1783
Call Number: REF. E163 .A49 1998 (DP)

American eras : Westward expansion, 1800-1860
Call Number: REF. E164 .A471 1999 (DP)

American eras : The reform era and eastern U.S. development, 1815-1850
Call Number: REF. E165 .A491998 (DP)

Dictionary of American history
Call Number: REF. E174 .D52 2003 (DP)

Encyclopedia of American historical documents
Call Number: REF. E173 .E54 2004 (DP)

The great American history fact-finder : the who, what, where, when, and why of American history
Call Number: REF. E174 .C67 2004 (DP)

Historical atlas of the United States
Call Number: REF. G1201.S1 H5 2003 (DP)

Locating Books In The Oakton Library

Search for additional books in the Oakton online catalog and I-Share. Make sure to get your library card at the Circulation
Desk.

Updated 09/09/09
Home
Loading...
Home Turn Off "Getting Started"
Loading...